SMALL CHAMBER ENSEMBLE - Passing Through (2007) (2vn-va-vc)

Duration - 6:00

2 violin - viola - violoncello


Passing Through was commissioned for the Guarneri String Quartet by Norma and Edward Dworetzky.

Bermel’s seven-minute score is a meditation on the slow movement of Beethoven’s last string quartet, Op. 135, and its rueful, chorale-like character - punctuated, in Bermel’s version, by bursts of fierce dissonance - spoke volumes about the passing of time and the continuity of artistic tradition.
— San Francisco Chronicle
Guareri String Quartet

Guareri String Quartet